Mat-Su Health Foundation 07



Wasilla, Alaska –The Mat-Su Health Foundation (MSHF) recently gave scholarships totaling $262,579 to 66 members of the Mat-Su community. Since the program began in 2007, $1,142,929 has been awarded to 344 local residents.

The 2014 scholarships were given in two categories: Academic Scholarships for students pursuing college degrees with health or wellness majors, and Vocational Scholarships to assist students with the cost of training and certifications for jobs in health care.

MSHF scholarships are intended to encourage Mat-Su residents to pursue careers in high-demand careers in health and/or wellness by helping to defray the cost of higher education. The MSHF board of directors believes that investing in the education of Mat-Su residents will help build the healthcare workforce of the future and an engaged citizenship with a higher capacity to address the health-related challenges impacting Mat-Su and Alaska.

Scholarships are awarded based on the merit of each applicant meeting MSHF’s eligibility criteria, including demonstrated interest in the health care field, selection of a career choice that matches the health care workforce needs of the Mat-Su, and unmet financial need.

Two of the Academic Scholarships were given in honor of revered and respected former employees of Valley Hospital. The Annie Demming Scholarship was awarded to Paulo Wolcoff. Annie Demming served as Director of the Medical Records Department for Valley Hospital and retired after 28 years of service. The Vivian Shaver Scholarship was awarded to Kelsey Olson, and this scholarship is given in honor of Vivian “Babe” Shaver, who worked at Valley Hospital and passed away in 1978.

The 2014 recipients of MSHF Academic Scholarship are:

Annemarie Acord
Marlena Acord
Ruby Acord
Jacqueline Alstrom
Kathryn Applin
David M. Arthur
William Bocast
Kristina Bowen
Heather Buben
Miracle Burton
Joshua Christensen
Michael Craig
Bryan Dahms
Daniel Davis
Adina Demske
Valerie Dull
Cassidy Evans
Trey Farber
Starr Flavin
Mary Geist
Raynie Hamlin
Trisha Hardwick
Reckia Heuton
Donna Hickle
Mikaela Hull
Stephanie Huycke
Alyasha Ivins
Andre Koehrer
Svetlana Kolomeychuk
Kara Larson
Jennifer Lee
Ruth Malak
Dana Manelick
Richard Manrique
Jennifer Martin
Candace Mauldin
Kathryn Mayer
Helen Michaelson
Lily Michels
Delaney Mitchell
Kelsey Olson
Brittany Ornquist
Matthew Packa
Meagan Rector
Kayla Scheibl
Kelsey Schober
Hannah Schruf
Leyla Sinyawski
Ariel Sizemore
Hope Spargo
Bailey Stevenson
Rebecca Stiner
Molly Sullivan
Terra Swartzbacker
Brittany Wailes
Jake Williams
Paulo Wolcoff
Eli Wouk
Johanna Zivotic
Tobbie Zook
The recipients of Vocational Scholarships year to date are listed below.

Jena Enderson-Roop
Mercedes Moser
Samantha O’Mara
Jamie Church
Brittney Kauffman
Diana Zitmanis

Vocational scholarship applications are accepted year-round by MSHF, and there will likely be additional awards this year. More information and an online application are available at